Dear Alcohol, enough is enough.

Imaging by: Andrii Iemelianenko

We were so close, you and I, it felt like it would last forever.
Through the good, bad, laughs and grief, you were the one I could always depend on.
You never let me down, until you did.
It took a while to catch on, but I see you for what you are.
All you did was lie, made me believe you were the only solution.
Rather than listening to myself, I turned to you for insight.
I became someone I didn’t recognize.
Someone I grew to despise.
You led me astray. I allowed you to.
I listened when you said you were all I needed, that vicious lie consumed me.
That lie that almost destroyed me, but now I know the truth.
You’re nothing but a wolf in sheep’s clothing.
You deceived me and made me think I was using you, yet it was you that was using me.
Until there was almost nothing left.
Like I said, it took me a while to catch on, but I see you now.
You’re nothing but a poison that was slowly tainting my body and mind.
I gave you too much of myself.
Enough is enough.
I’m recovering all I allowed you to have.
I refused to give you anymore.
This is your last call.
We were so close, you and I, but now this is goodbye.

Published by

thaliaainsley

Writer. Woman in recovery. Working on my health and inner healing. Trying to become a better human every day. Learning the meaning of Faith.

5 thoughts on “Dear Alcohol, enough is enough.”

Leave a comment